LEADERSHIP

Very Rev. Raúl
Gómez-Ruiz SDS, Ph.D.
President-Rector, Rector’s Office
rector@shsst.edu
414-529-6972
CV

    • Ph.D., The Catholic University of America in Washington, DC
    • M.Div., Franciscan School of Theology in Berkeley, CA
    • M.P.A., California State University in Sacramento

Fr. Zbigniew “Ziggy”
Morawiec SCJ, STL
Vice Rector & Associate Director of Formation Programs, Rector’s Office
zmorawiec@shsst.edu
414-858-4646

Mr. Tyler Galstad
Vice President of the Finance & Administration Department
tgalstad@shsst.edu
414-529-6971

  • M.S., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Rev. John Mack
Vice President of Formation Programs, Formation Department
jmack@shsst.edu
414-858-4630

  • S.T.L., Regis College – University of Toronto
  • M.Div., Christ the King Seminary
  • M.A.,  Regis College – University of Toronto
  • Certificate in Advanced Studies in Educational Leadership, State University of New York College at Brockport, NY

Ms. Monica Misey
Vice President of the Institutional Advancement Department
mmisey@shsst.edu
414-858-4654

  • M.A., Sacred Heart Seminary and School of Theology
  • M.B.A., Vanderbilt University
  • B.A., University of Virginia

Dr. Paul Monson
Vice President of Intellectual Formation & Academic Dean (CAO), Associate Professor of Church History, Academics & Intellectual Formation Department
pmonson@shsst.edu
414-858-4617
CV

  • Ph.D., Marquette University
  • M.A., Marquette University

Dr. Julie O’Connor
Vice President of the Student Services & Special Projects Department & Professional Faculty
joconnor@shsst.edu
414-529-6974

  • Ed.D., Capella University
  • M.S., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

 

STAFF

Ms. Rachel Allison
Communications Assistant
Institutional Advancement Department
rallison@shsst.edu
414-858-4652

  • M.A., University of Wisconsin- Milwaukee
  • B.A., North Central College

 

Mr. Steve Andrzejewski
Maintenance, Plant Operations, Administration Department
sandrzejewski@shsst.edu
414-529-6996

 

Mr. David Bakala
Custodian
Administration Department
dbakala@shsst.edu
414-529-4844

Mr. Michael Beard
Director of Master of Arts & Pastoral Formation Programs, Academics & Intellectual Formation Department
mbeard@shsst.edu
414-858-4655

  • M.Div., University of Notre Dame

Ms. Amy Clavette
Finance Assistant, Finance & Administration Department
aclavette@shsst.edu  
414-858-4700

 

Ms. Kathy Darlington
Formation Programs Specialist, Formation Department
kdarlington@shsst.edu
414-529-6967

  • B.A., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

 

Mr. Michael Erato
Director of Plant Operations, Finance & Administration Department
merato@shsst.edu
414-529-6981

Ms. Jennifer Fischer
Administrative Assistant, Rector’s Office
jfischer@shsst.edu
414-858-4653

  • B.A., Alverno College

Rev. José González
Director of the Hispanic Ministry Preparation Program, Formation Department
Human & Spiritual Formation Instructor, Hispanic Studies (Adjunct)
jgonzalez@shsst.edu
414-858-4664

  • M.Div., University of St. Michael’s, Toronto, Canada
  • M.T.S., Chicago Theological Seminary

Ms. Amy Jurgens
Human Resource Specialist, Finance & Administration Department
ajurgens@shsst.edu
414-858-4642

 

Ms. Lynn Kaestner
Director of Admissions, Rector’s Office & Institutional Advancement Department
Rector’s Office Administrator
lkaestner@shsst.edu
414-529-6997

 

Mr. Jason Kane
Custodian, Finance & Administration Department
jkane@shsst.edu
414-529-6973

Ms. Caitlin Lewis
Academic Administrative Assistant, Academics & Intellectual Formation Department
clewis@shsst.edu
414-858-4776

  • B.A., Ottawa University

 

Ms. Ruth Markworth
Design Projects Manager, Institutional Advancement Department
rmarkworth@shsst.edu
414-858-4656

  • B.F.A., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

 

Ms. Shannon McKeown
Communications Assistant for the
Hospitality and Information Desk,
Institutional Advancement Department
smckeown@shsst.edu
414-858-4600

  • B.S.E., University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

 

Br. Long Nguyen, SCJ
Asst. Residential ECS Program Coordinator, English & Culture Studies Program (ECSP)
lphing@gmail.com
312-241-7050

 

Ms. Emili Nollge
Special Events & Communications Department Coordinator, Institutional Advancement Department
enollge@shsst.edu
414-858-4672

  • M.S.E., University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  • B.S.E., University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Lisa Oszewski
Executive Assistant and Secretary to the Board of Directors, Rector’s Office
loszewski@shsst.edu
414-529-6972

  • B.A., Marquette University

Mr. Pearce Pomerleau
International Student Services Specialist, English & Culture Studies Program (ECSP)
ppomerleau@shsst.edu 
414-858-4708

  • B.A., Economics

Fr. Yvon Sheehy, SCJ
Residential ECS Program Coordinator, English & Culture Studies Program (ECSP)
yasheehy@yahoo.com

  • M.A., Sacred Heart Seminary and School of Theology

Ms. Laura Sokolosky
Registrar & Academic Planning Officer, Academics & Intellectual Formation Department
lsokolosky@shsst.edu
414-858-4647

  • B.A., University of Wisconsin-Green Bay

Mr. Jon Sweeney
Co-Director of the Lux Center for Catholic-Jewish Studies
jsweeney@shsst.edu
414-529-4724

Mr. Tom Weiss
Telecommunications Assistant, Finance & Administration Department
tweis@shsst.edu

Rabbi Michal Woll
Co-Director of the Lux Center for Catholic-Jewish Studies
mwoll@shsst.edu
414-529-4724

Mr. Clayton Zieroth
Plant Operations & Lead Custodial, Finance & Administration Department
czieroth@shsst.edu
414-529-6995

FULL TIME ACADEMIC FACULTY

Dr. Jeremy Blackwood
Associate Professor, Systematic Theology
jblackwood@shsst.edu
414-529-6984
CV

  • Ph.D., Marquette University
  • M.A., Marquette University

 

Dr. Michael Brummond
Associate Professor, Systematic Theology
mbrummond@shsst.edu
414-858-4661

  • S.T.D., University of St. Mary of the Lake/Mundelein Seminary
  • S.T.L., University of St. Mary of the Lake/Mundelein Seminary

Ms. Megan Furman
Assistant Professor, Philosophy
mfurman@shsst.edu
414-858-4641

Dr. Charles Hughes-Huff
Assistant Professor, Scripture Studies
chugheshuff@shsst.edu
414-858-4783

  • Ph.D., The University of Chicago 
  • M.A., The University of Chicago 
  • Th.M., Dallas Theological Seminary 

Dr. Gary Klump
Assistant Professor, Scripture Studies
gklump@shsst.edu
414-858-4634
CV

  • Ph.D., Marquette University

Deacon Steve Kramer
Director of Recruitment/Director of Homiletics/Associate Professor, Pastoral Studies, Institutional Advancement Department
skramer@shsst.edu
414-858-4767
CV

  • D.Min., Gordon-Conwell Seminary
  • M.A., Seminary of the Immaculate Conception

Dr. Katherine Milco
Assistant Professor, Classics and Early Christian Studies
kmilco@shsst.edu
414-858-4803

  • Ph.D., University of Chicago
  • M.A., University of Chicago

Dr. Paul Monson
Vice President of Intellectual Formation & Academic Dean (CAO), Associate Professor of Church History, Academics & Intellectual Formation Department
pmonson@shsst.edu
414-858-4617
CV

  • Ph.D., Marquette University
  • M.A., Marquette University

Dr. Julie Newberry
Assistant Professor, Scripture Studies
jnewberry@shsst.edu
414-858-4704

  • Ph.D., Duke University Graduate School 
  • M.Div., Duke University Divinity School 
  • M.A., Texas A&M University 

Dr. Patrick Russell
Professor, Scripture Studies
prussell@shsst.edu
414-529-6977

  • Ph.D., Marquette University

Dr. Steven R. Shippee
Professor, Systematic Theology
sshippee@shsst.edu
414-858-4663

  • Ph.D., Marquette University
  • M.A., University of Notre Dame

Dr. James W. Stroud
Associate Professor, Moral Theology
jstroud@shsst.edu
414-858-4636

  • S.T.D., The Catholic University of America
  • S.T.L., The Catholic University of America
  • M.A., University of Dallas

Dr. David Zettel
Assistant Professor, Philosophy
dzettel@shsst.edu
414-858-4627

  • Ph.D., Cornell University 
  • M.A., University of Ottawa 

FULL TIME FORMATION FACULTY

Rev. José González
Associate Director of Formation, Director of the Hispanic Ministry Preparation Program
Formation Department
jgonzalez@shsst.edu
414-858-4664

  • S.T.M., Chicago Theological Seminary
  • M.Div., University of St. Michael College, Toronto School of Theology

Rev. Anthony Lajato, OFM Conv
Assistant Director of Formation, Lecturer in Systematic Theology, Formation Department
alajato@shsst.edu
414-858-4639

Rev. John Mack
Vice President of Formation Programs, Formation Department
jmack@shsst.edu
414-858-4630

  • S.T.L., Regis College – University of Toronto
  • M.Div., Christ the King Seminary
  • M.A.,  Regis College – University of Toronto
  • Certificate in Advanced Studies in Educational Leadership, State University of New York College at Brockport, NY

Rev. Mark Mastin, SCJ
Associate Formation Director, Formation Department
mmastin@shsst.edu
414-858-4711

Fr. Zbigniew “Ziggy”
Morawiec SCJ, STL
Vice Rector & Associate Director of Formation Programs, Rector’s Office
zmorawiec@shsst.edu
414-858-4646

Dr. Benjamin Stone
Director of Liturgy & Music, Lecturer, Pastoral Studies, & Faculty Representative for the BOD, Formation Department
bstone@shsst.edu
414-858-4635

  • D.M.A., University of Notre Dame
  • M.S.M., University of Notre Dame

FULL TIME PROFESSIONAL FACULTY

Ms. Dyan Barbeau
Library Director
dbarbeau@shsst.edu
414-529-6990

  • M.L.I.S., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • J.D., University of Wisconsin Law School

Mr. Dominic Fendt
Instructor, English and Culture Studies, English & Culture Studies Program (ECSP)
dfendt@shsst.edu
414-858-4639

  • M.A., Concordia University, Portland
  • B.A., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Dr. Robert Gotcher
Director of Accreditation and Assessment Services, Student Services, Special Projects Department, & Professional Faculty
rgotcher@shsst.edu
414-529-6980
CV

  • Ph.D., Marquette University
  • M.A., University of St. Thomas (St. Paul)

Ms. Kathleen M. Harty
Research and Technology Librarian, Library & Academic Support Services Department, & Professional Faculty
kharty@shsst.edu
414-858-4645

  • M.A.L.S., Dominican University
  • M.A., Marquette University

Dr. Julie O’Connor
Vice President of the Student Services & Special Projects Department & Professional Faculty
joconnor@shsst.edu
414-529-6974

  • Ed.D., Capella University
  • M.S., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

 

Ms. Ann Owen
Digital Services Librarian, Library & Academic Support Services Department, & Professional Faculty
aowen@shsst.edu
414-858-4659

  • A.M.L.S., University of Michigan
  • M.A.P.S., St. Francis de Sales Seminary

Mr. John “Ryan” Stubbs
English and Culture Studies Director
rstubbs@shsst.edu
414-858-4726

  • M.A., Columbia University
  • M.B.A., Hong Kong University of Science & Technology

PART TIME FACULTY

Rev. Steven Avella
Lecturer, Church History 
savella@shsst.edu
414-858-4704

Rev. Kevin Barnekow
Lecturer, Pastoral Studies
kbarnekow@shsst.edu
414-858-4617

  • Psy.D., Institute for the Psychological Sciences at Divine Mercy University, Arlington, VA
  • M.Psy., Institute for the Psychological Sciences at Divine Mercy University, Arlington, VA

Rev. Javier Bustos
Lecturer, Systematic Theology
jbustos@shsst.edu
414-858-4655

Rev. John H. Cella, OFM
Lecturer, Pastoral Studies
jcella@shsst.edu
414-349-0094

  • J.C.D., Antonianum University
  • J.C.L, The Catholic University of America
  • M.B.A, LaSalle University
  • M.Div, Aquinas Institute, St. Louis University

Dr. Barbara Anne Cusack
Board Chairperson
Lecturer, Pastoral Studies
Chancellor, Archdiocese of Milwaukee
CV

Ms. Terri Engsberg
Instructor, Cor Unum Pathway 
tengsberg@shsst.edu 

  • M.A., Sacred Heart Seminary and School of Theology

Ms. Sharon Hanson
Instructor, Cor Unum Pathway 
shanson@shsst.edu 

  • J.D., St. Louis University
  • M.A., Sacred Heart Seminary and School of Theology

Ms. Vicki Johnson
Instructor, English and Culture Studies, English & Culture Studies Program (ECSP)
vjohnson@shsst.edu
414-858-4639

  • M.A., English – Specialization in ESL and Second Language Acquisition; University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
  • B.S.W., University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
  • Certification in PESL Accent Modification Instruction

Rev. Justin Kizewski
Lecturer, Systematic Theology
jkizewski@shsst.edu 

  • S.T.D., Pontifica Universita Gregoriana

Rev. Tom Knoebel
Board Member & Lecturer, Systematic Studies (Adjunct), Professor Emeritus
tknoebel@shsst.edu 

  • Ph.D., Fordham University 
  • M.Div., St. Francis Seminary

Rev. Brad Krawczyk
Instructor, Systematic Theology
bkrawczyk@shsst.edu 

  • M.Div., Sacred Heart Seminary and School of Theology

Mr. William Lipscomb
Instructor, Cor Unum Pathway 
wlipscomb@shsst.edu 

  • M.A., Sacred Heart Seminary and School of Theology
  • J.D., University of Wisconsin Law School

Dr. Michael J. Mazza
Lecturer, Pastoral Studies
mmazza@shsst.edu

  • J.C.D., , Pontifical University of the Holy Cross 
  • J.D., Marquette University Law School 
  • M.A., Religious Studies, Notre Dame Institute (Alexandria, VA)

Ms. Susan McNeil
Instructor, Pastoral Studies
smcneil@shsst.edu 

  • M.Div., St. Francis de Sales Seminary

Rev. John Paul Mitchell
Lecturer, Scripture Studies
jmitchell@shsst.edu
CV

  • S.T.D., Pontifical Gregorian University
  • M.S., Columbia Graduate School of Journalism

Very Rev. Vien Nguyen, SCJ
Provincial Superior of the US Province of the Priests of the Sacred Heart (Dehonians), Adjunct Lecturer in Scripture Studies
provsup.nguyen@usprovince.org

Rev. Glenn Powers
Instructor, Pastoral Studies
gpowers@shsst.edu

Ms. Mary Reel
Instructor, Hispanic Studies
mreel@shsst.edu 

  • M.A., Cardinal Stritch University

Dr. Caitlyn Trader
Lecturer, Systematic Theology
ctrader@shsst.edu 

  • S.T.D., University of Saint Mary of the Lake/Mundelein Seminary
  • S.T.L., University of Saint Mary of the Lake/Mundelein Seminary
  • M.S., University of Mary, Bismarck, ND

Rev. Francis Vu Tran 
Lecturer, Scripture Studies 
fvutran@shsst.edu

Rev. James Walters, SCJ
Lecturer, Pastoral Spanish Languages & Spiritual Director
jwalters@shsst.edu
414-529-6991

  • M.S., Loyola College, Baltimore
  • M.Div., Sacred Heart School of Theology

Maripat Zacher
Instructor, English and Culture Studies, English & Culture Studies Program (ECSP)
mzacher@shsst.edu
414-858-4796
CV

  • M.A., in Specialized Translation, Spanish to English, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya (UOC), Barcelona
  • B.A. in English, Emphasis in Literature and Creative Writing
  • Certification in Secondary Education University of Montana, Missoula

EMERITI FACULTY

Rev. Hugh B. Birdsall, SDS (1991-2011)
Professor Emeritus, Pastoral Studies

  • M.A., The Catholic University of America
  • M.S., Loyola College of Baltimore

 

Rev. Otto N. Bucher, OFM Cap (1973-2003)
Professor Emeritus, Scripture Studies

  • S.S.L., Pontifical Biblical Institute
  • S.T.L., The Catholic University of America

Sr. Mary Carroll, SSSF (1989-2018) Professor Emerita

  • D.Min., University of St. Mary of the Lake/Mundelein Seminary
  • M.A., St. Louis University
  • M.A., Fordham University

Dr. John Gallam (1973-2023)
Professor Emeritus, Philosophy

  • Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
  • B.A., Kilroe Seminary of the Sacred Heart

Rev. Jan de Jong, SCJ (1969-1986; 1999-2012)
Professor Emeritus, Systematic Studies

  • S.T.D., Adacemia Alfonsiana
  • S.T.L., Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas

Sr. Joan Koehler, SSSF (1979-2007)
Professor Emerita,
Scripture Studies

  • M.Ed., DePaul University
  • M.A., Marquette University

Rev. Tom Knoebel
Board Member & Lecturer, Systematic Studies (Adjunct), Professor Emeritus
tknoebel@shsst.edu 

  • Ph.D., Fordham University 
  • M.Div., St. Francis Seminary

Dr. Richard Lux (1973-2010)
Professor Emeritus, Scripture Studies
Founding Director, The Lux Center

  • Ph.D., M.A., University of Notre Dame

Dr. Bruce V. Malchow (1975-2005)
Professor Emeritus, Scripture Studies
Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

  • Ph.D., Marquette University
  • M.Div., S.T.M., Concordia Seminary

Rev. André Papineau, SDS (1979-2013)
 Professor Emeritus, Pastoral Studies

  • M.A., The Catholic University of America
  • M.A., University of Notre Dame

Mr. Charles Christian Rich (1978-2014)
Professor Emeritus, Pastoral Studies and Director of Liturgy and Music

  • M.M., University of Notre Dame
  • B.A., St. Meinrad

Rev. Robert W. Schiavone (1990-2013)
Professor Emeritus, Pastoral Studies

  • Graduate Certificate in Peace Studies, St. Louis University
  • M.A., St. Louis University
  • B.A., St. Mary Seminary and University

Faculty Emeriti not pictured:

 Fr. Patrick Cremer

 Fr. John O’Connor

 Fr. Josef Gole

 Sr. Agnese Jasko

 Fr. Mel Michalski

Cross image indicates deceased

2023-2024 Board of Director Members

Very Rev. Raúl Gómez-Ruiz SDS, PhD
President-Rector, Sacred Heart Seminary & School of Theology

Very Rev. Vien Nguyen, SCJ
Provincial Superior, Priests of the Sacred Heart – US Province

Rev. Will Arnold
Alum, Sacred Heart Seminary & School of Theology

Ms. Reine Assana
Alum, Sacred Heart Seminary & School of Theology

Mr. F. Jon Baranko
CIO, Allspring Global Investments

Rev. Michael Berry, OCD
Father Provincial, Holy Hill Carmelites

Most Rev. Robert M. Coerver, STL
Bishop, Diocese of Lubbock

Rev. Robert Cook, OFM Conv.
Rector, Basilica of St. Josaphat

Dr. Barbara Anne Cusack (Chair)
Chancellor, Archdiocese of Milwaukee

Mr. Patrick Krill
Partner, V1 Media and FXM Publishing

Rev. Jack Kurps, SCJ
Spiritual Director, Sacred Heart Southern Missions

Rev. Aaron Laskiewicz
Alum, Sacred Heart Seminary &  School of Theology

Br. Duane Lemke, SCJ
Local Superior, Sacred Heart Community at SHML

Mr. William Lipscomb, J.D.
Faculty, Sacred Heart Seminary & School of Theology

Most Rev. Jerome E. Listecki
Archbishop, Archdiocese of Milwaukee

Mr. Francis LoCoco, J.D. (Chair Designate)
Board Member, Sacred Heart Seminary & School of Theology

Ms. Cynthia Madigan Bell
Board Member, Sacred Heart Seminary & School of Theology

Most Rev. Michael McGovern
Bishop, Diocese of Belleville

Mr. Fessahaye Mebrahtu
Board Member, Sacred Heart Seminary & School of Theology

Ms. Kate Meyer
Co-Owner, Biz Times

Sr. Jean Schaefer, SDS
Provincial Leader, Sisters of the Divine Savior

Most Rev. John Stowe, OFM Conv.
Bishop, Diocese of Lexington

Very Rev. Luke Strand
Rector, Saint Francis de Sales Seminary

Rev. Andrzej Sudol, SCJ
Pastor, St. Martin of Tours Parish

Very Rev. Jeffrey Wocken, SDS
Provincial Superior, Soc. of the Divine Savior

Dr. Benjamin A. Stone
Faculty Representative, Sacred Heart Seminary & School of Theology